Naples- the nitty gritty

I Loved Naples. You don’t have to press me to tell you that, I will gladly divulge that information to anyone but it’s not for everyone. If you’re looking to have a nice vacation somewhere beautiful, stay in nearby Sorrento. It is quaint, charming and quiet. Take a day trip to Naples, eat some pizza, walk around, go back before dark. You’ll have a great day, I promise. We’ve heard the further south you go, the poorer it gets. Since we heard this from Italians and based on what I saw I’m assuming this is fairly true.

Naples was an experience. Imagine these massive beautiful buildings built 750-400 years ago. Now imagine them covered in graffiti, and lined with garbage on busy roads. This is Naples. It is beautiful, historical, and busy but also malcontent, boisterous and unkempt. Maybe it’s a sign of the times. Things are bad in Italy, probably worse for Naples. We were there less than a month after Berlusconi stepped down. There’s a lot of unrest and some of the population of Naples have taken it upon themselves to make that evident. I found this interesting, it was so unlike the pristine cities like Paris, Nice, Milan, Florence (pretty much everywhere we’d been so far). It has a lot of character and a lot of history.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Our pictures from Naples are mostly of historic buildings from one morning walking around. I wish we’d taken the camera more around town but there was so much to do that most of the time we went for convenience. Hopefully you can see some of what I’m talking about. There’s also 2 very famous pizzerias in this set- Gino Sorbillo and Di Michele. Spot them if you can through all the people.

About arianeelyse

I’m Ariane, I’m a graphic designer living in Toronto Ontario. I went to the University of Western Ontario and graduated in 2010 with a degree in Media Studies, and a diploma in Multimedia Design and Production. I started this blog with Chris to share and record our adventures.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

